Virtual Baker TZIP

Request for comments on the virtual baker proposal. You can leave them below.

2 Likes

For the sake of completeness this post is related to Virtual Baker

Regarding the TZIP itself i think one should lift the ambiguity in the description whether the chosen model for this Virtual Baker is custodial or non-custodial with regard to the XTZ.

If non-custodial (as is the case for regular/real/physical bakers which are non-custodial) then we should refrain from adopting “deposit” in the naming of the api methods. It is quite ambiguous to speak of a “deposit” which usually implies physical transfer and counterparty risk if it is not what is happening under the hood. I am not good with names but i think things along the line of “delegate” or “lock” or “allocate” or w/e seem better instead.

If it is custodial then there’s a problem imho.

It is custodial. What do you see as the problem with that?

Non-custody of delegated funds is one of the core tenets of Tezos baking because it lifts the counterparty risk which exists in other protocols. Moving away from this model requires imho a specific discussion highlighting this AND explaining why it is necessary AND explaining why this is safe in this context.

In addition to this, physical transfers could have tax implications but that’s a separate “business” conversation. At any rate the document is at the very least incomplete in not discussing the custody aspect of the proposal i believe

I will update the draft clarifying this.

The tez is custodied by a contract that has no manager features so it’s not analogous to transferring funds to a baker and doesn’t have the same security or tax issues.

Maybe also worth pointing out that the intended users of the virtual baker are also autonomous custodians. If you want to use sapling transactions you have to transfer your tez to a contract and hold a sapling key corresponding to some theoretical “ztez” that only exists inside that contract.