Application-level firewall for nodes

I’ve been floating this idea around for a couple of years, but I don’t think I gave it a write-up, so here it is for the record.

An application-level firewall for nodes

The Tezos shell is agnostic to the content of operations, but the protocol does export so-called “transaction quality metrics” which essentially boil down to things like fees paid, gas limits, etc. so that the mempool can discern which transactions it would like to keep or not. This is currently used to require a set minimum amount of fees as a function of gas and space, based on a node’s user configuration.

In addition to these metrics, the protocol actually exports an entire JSON representation of the transaction.

This opens up the opportunity to create a nimble application layer firewall. Imagine a single, user, configurable javascript file (bear with me). Each line represents a function that is to be executed against incoming operations in the mempool, and it returns whether to accept the transaction, reject it, mark it as branch delayed, kick the peer, grey list the peer or even black list the peer relaying the transaction. When an operation is about to enter the mempool, it is evaluated against each rule for further inspection.

The rules could also be applied to the receipt of the operation (i.e. the effect it has on the context).

But why?

In a perfect world, if there are never any bugs ever, firewalls are unnecessary. In the real world, it’s better to have one and not need it than to need one and not have it

Large classes of potential bugs that can be quickly patched using these kinds of filtering rules, but there are two important caveats: