Why I like working on Tezos

By Daniel Hines

It’s been a little over one year since Marigold formed, and I’ve been reflecting on my experience working on Tezos in that time. We’ve also recently had “Marigold week”, our very first IRL gathering, which was a lot of fun, and I’m feeling sentimental. On this double count, I’d like to relate to you why I enjoy working on the Tezos blockchain.

About me

I started programming in 2016 with Excel macros, but soon started writing web apps in Javascript. I did this professionally for about 3 years; however, somewhere along the way I discovered functional programming.

By the end of 2020 I was looking for somewhere I could make the jump from amateur enthusiast
to professional functional programmer. Specifically I wanted a domain where:

• The floor is low enough that I could start making meaningful contributions immediately.
    immediately
  • The ceiling is high enough that I’ll never be bored.
  • The team has people who can teach me the deep computer science magic I want to know.

To my delight, joining Marigold and the Tezos dev community has provided all this in abundance.
I believe my positive experience stems from Tezos’ unique attributes as a project; in the rest of this post, I’ll elaborate why.

The Dev Community

There is hardly an OCaml-related question I could ask that I couldn’t get an answer to on our work Slack. And not just an answer - I’m talking good answers, from OCaml maintainers and researchers, with considerations I hadn’t thought of, and links to relevant papers, issues, and PR’s.

This is the fruit of Tezos systematically rooting itself in the OCaml community through
funding academic research,
tooling and infra development, education platforms, training seminars, etc. As a result, developers and maintainers of critical components of the OCaml stack[^1] now also work on Tezos, and they bring an incredibly high caliber of knowledge (and enthusiasm!) with them. This is really useful